2017 M Sport Cup Squads Named

On Monday, Northern Football confirmed the two 13th grade squads that will compete for the M Sport Cup in Sydney later this year.

The 2017 tour will be the fourth consecutive year that NFF have sent teams to the M Sport cup in Sydney, a tour that focuses on providing players with an experience similar to being selected for the National Age Group tournament squads in the future.

The M Sports Cup is geared at providing youth football players with a competitive football tournament in which to develop technically, tactically, socially and psychologically. The tournament also provides opportunities to compete against a selection of Australia’s, New Zealand’s best youth football teams including the Newcastle Jets and Central Coast Mariners academies. Teams will have the opportunity to prepare off field by refueling correctly and physiologically preparing at Football New South Wales’ Valentine’s Sports Park, a complex that is used by professional and international teams.

NFF Player Development Officer Martin Bullock said “The M Sport Cup has been a fixture on the NFF Talent Calendar since we first competed in 2014. Its provides an excellent experience for our FTC players, helping them develop mentally, tactically and physically.”

“The organisation, quality of venues and matches are always of the highest order and we always look forward to returning to Sydney for the M Sports Cup.”

The 2017 Squads are:

13th Grade Boys: 13th Grade Girls:
Marcus Nevin (East Coast Bays) Teneille Hiki (Northland FC)
Aidan Lehan (East Coast Bays) Melanie Kettell (Forrest Hill Milford)
Leo Harbottle (Forrest Hill Milford) Gerri Gibson (Forrest Hill Milford)
Freddie Martin (Greenhithe) Taylor Irvine (Hibiscus Coast)
Zach Newman (Hibiscus Coast) Gabi Hislop (Northland FC)
Sam Pepper (Greenhithe) Brooke Haskins (Hibiscus Coast)
Sam McIntosh (East Coast Bays) Lucy Macready (Forrest Hill Milford)
Ben Lee (East Coast Bays) Ella Dorward (Forrest Hill Milford)
James Mitchell (Forrest Hill Milford) Rosa Hollister (Norwest)
Blake Murphy (Hibiscus Coast) Cerys Houghton (Norwest)
Karl Wallace (Greenhithe) Ava Williams (Hibiscus Coast)
Liam Playfair (Greenhithe) Te Waiariki Read (Northland FC)
Chase Taylor (East Coast Bays) Hannah Taylor (Norwest)
Jackson Baird (East Coast Bays) Ruby Skinner (Norwest)
Ben Leitz (East Coast Bays) Ella Hanton (Forrest Hill Milford)
Alex Buxton (Forrest Hill Milford) Danica Urlich Beech (Hibiscus Coast)
Curtis Hughes (Greenhithe)
Lewis Bower (East Coast Bays)


The teams will be joined by NFF Coaches & Managers: Martin Bullock, Mel Giles, Dan Johnston and Hayley Stirling

For more information on the M Sport Cup check out msportscup.com